Day of Beta Test

my husband took the day off to go to the hospital with me for the blood test and also wanted to be there when the call came.

The beta test detects the hcg hormone in the blood to see if you are pregnant.

I’m glad it fell on my study day so I didn’t have to tell anyone at school. We had to go between 8-9. My husband drove us there.

Today was a strange day as the world woke up to the news that Donald Trump would be the next president of the United States.

As I entered the room the nurse said that the world needed good news today so she was praying all pregnancy tests would be positive today so the world was at balance. What a lovely woman!

We left the clinic knowing that our fate would be known in a few hours.

We got home at 10 and I worked on my Masters and my husband worked. After a few hours I was exhausted and my husband said he would take the call.

I was pleased he would do this as I just couldn’t hear any more negative news.

I went to bed to have a small snooze and was woken up by my husband…

He was very emotional!!!! Crying loads and said ‘you’re pregnant, it’s positive…” Now I had just been having vivid dreams whilst asleep about pregnancy so I didn’t even think I was awake…

He held me in his arms and I was crying and then I realised this was reality… No dream but our reality. I burst out crying too. I’m sure we were only hugging for a few minutes but it was a LONG few minutes.

I’ve never seen my husband like that before he was very emotional. I was lost for words (that’s quite hard for me) and I sat there staring at the TV even though it wasn’t on. Then I would randomly start crying again.

The beta test showed it was 119, a good healthy number for the first test.

This was a day I don’t think we would never forget 9/11/16 at 14.46.

Here is a chart of what my hcg needs to be. I’m on day 15 post ovulation so higher than average and within the age.

I do think this feeling will take a while to sink.

  

Leave a comment