Baby planning and planning again

The first year of trying to conceive…naturally

My husband and I got married in July 2011 in the UK and via our honeymoon we moved to our new home in The Netherlands. After a year we were both settled and thought we would start ‘trying’ for a baby ‘properly’.

We had a holiday booked to Rio in October 2012 so we thought, what a place to conceive….(my husband being a Manchester United fan and Rio Ferdinand being the captain at the time, we thought the opportunity couldn’t be more ideal).

When I came on my period after our holiday I was somewhat disappointed. I really thought it would take that one go…isn’t that normally the case for most people?

I bought an app now which monitored my cycle and gave me some indication of when I was fertile and ovulating. This time I was going to take it really seriously…talk about throwing romance out of the window…

“We need to do it today, tomorrow or day after….that’s when I am ovulating…we need to make babies” Jeeeeezzzzz, imagine using that as a pick up line!!

In January 2013 we invested in some fertility pills for men and women. One of my friends said her friend was trying for two years with no luck, they took these pills and BANG they were pregnant….literally BANG!! Surely these would work for me too??!!

We then went on a holiday of a lifetime to South Africa in May 2013, which was out of this world and truly was breath taking. The setting couldn’t have been more romantic and the atmosphere so relaxed. Surely this would have been the perfect place to conceive? Sadly that was not the case…how many more months could we endure this?

Our final chance was a trip to the Canary Islands in August 2013 and we both decided this would be our final push. I was someone who was very regular with my cycle, no discrepancies or history of problems. My husband has never had any issues so we were quite perplexed and confused to why we weren’t conceiving. Anyhow, this trip was truly a NOTHING but relaxing trip. Chilling on the beach and literally having quality time together.

When I came on in September 2013 that was the last straw, it had been a year of trying. Apparently 85% of people conceive after the first year of trying…obviously not us….

Time to call the doctor…

Leave a comment